Igniting the Menorah


Menorah is primarily a seven-branched candelabrum used in Jewish worship. An eight-branched menorah known as Hanukkiah is used for celebrating the Jewish feast of Hanukkah.

The seven lamps menorah is a hexagram symbolising Israel. This explains why a hexagram is central to the Flag of Israel and the seven lamps menorah is central to the Coat of Arms of Israel.

Coat of Arms = 7 Lamps Menorah

Flag = Hexagram

The seven lamps menorah has a central lamp flanked by three lamps on the right and the left. The six lamps are the six sides of the hexagram.

The three lamps on the left constitute a triangle and the three lamps on the right constitute another triangle, such that the 7-lamps menorah is a hexagram formed by the intersection of the two triangles.

Triangle FBD is Yin, triangle AEC is Yang, and the Hexagram ABCDEF is Tao (Yin and Yang).

The seven lamps menorah is hexagram ABCDEF, and the seventh lamp is denoted by 5 in the center of the hexagram.

Hexagram: 7-branched menorah

In the hexagram above, the central lamp (the seventh lamp) is 5, and the other six lamps are A, B, C, D, E and F.

The Jewish word menorah simply means "Lamp". The lamp is not a physical light, but universal enlightenment. The term "enlightenment" here means education.

The seven lamps menorah is the Holy of Holies (the holy city described in Revelation 21). The six lamps are the six sides of the cube known as the Holy of Holies, and 5 is the Father inside the Holy of Holies.

In Judaism, the Father is represented by the Torah (the Law). Placing the book of the Law in the Most Holy Place is symbolic of the Father in the Most Holy Place.

Menorah symbolises wisdom, knowledge, and understanding.

The seven lamps menorah is the LORD'S servant.

God said, "Here is my servant, whom I uphold, my chosen one in whom I delight; I will put my Spirit on him, and he will bring justice to the nations." (Isaiah 42:1)

My servant: 7-branched menorah.

Chosen one: 7-branched menorah.

My Spirit: Tao.

I will put my Spirit on him: I will put the Tao on the menorah.

God's Spirit (Tao) is the Holy Spirit. Placing the Tao on the menorah is the coming of the Holy Spirit.

Lighting the menorah is igniting the Pentecost fire.

The flames of the menorah are the flames touching everyone on the day of Pentecost.

Pentecost flames: A, B, C, D, E, F and 5.

On the day of Pentecost, the two sides became one and the people on either side could understand each other. The first side is Yin (0), the second side is Yang (1), and the two sides are 1 (Yang).

Menorah = Hexagram
                  = Triangle FBD + Triangle AEC
                  = Yin + Yang
                  = 0 + 1
                  = 1 (Yang)

In Taoism, the 7 lamps menorah is qi xing deng - a seven star-lamp in which the seven lamps are the seven stars of the Northern Dipper. Lighting the lamps is illuminating the seven stars whose light destroys sin and prolongs one's lifespan.