Lo Shu Square

Lo Shu square.

Lo Shu square, also known as the Nine Halls diagram, is the standard Chinese order 3 magic square with magic constant 15. Lo Shu (Luoshu) literally means river (Luo) book/scroll. The book is the Gospel, the scroll is the Torah, and the dividing line is a mirror placed between them.

The Gospel (four books) and the Torah (five books) are equal to 45.

The four books of the Gospel are:
  1. Matthew
  2. Mark
  3. Like
  4. John
The five books of the Torah are:
  1. Genesis
  2. Exodus
  3. Leviticus
  4. Numbers
  5. Deuteronomy

Total number of books in the Gospel and the Torah is nine.

Gospel + Torah = 4 books + 5 books
                         = 4 + 5
                         = 9

The nine books are the nine halls of the Lo Shu 3×3 magic square grid.

Lo Shu magic square diagram.

Lo Shu square is 45 - the sum of the nine figures in the magic square.

1+2+3+4+5+6+7+8+9 = 45

Lo Shu square is the axis mundi of numbers.

Since the Torah and the Gospel are an object and its mirror image, 5 and 4 in 45 are an object and its image. The object is a unit (1) and its image is nothing (o), which means that Lo Shu square is 5 (the scroll).

The scroll is a five-pointed star in which the five books are five points. In Islam, the five points are five pillars.

The star and crescent symbol is a five-pointed star in front of a mirror. The crescent is a mirror put in place to magnify the light of the five-pointed star like in flashlights, spotlights and headlamps. The magnified light is the eight-pointed star inside the Covenant Box.

The five-pointed star is 5 in the center of the magic square, and the remaining eight figures surrounding 5 are the eight directions of the light of the five-pointed star. The light is distributed equally to the eight directions so that each direction is itself a five-pointed star.

Below is Lo Shu square distributing the light from the center to the eight directions of an 8-point compass.

Lo Shu square in form of 8-point compass.

Lo Shu square grid (45) has nine cells.

Lo Shu = 45
Number of cells = 9

A cell = 45/9
          = 5

5 is the central cell. The remaining eight cells are equal to 40.

8 cells = 8 x 5
           = 40

40 stands for the number of years the Israelites spent in the wilderness.

The eight directions are the eight symbols (Bagua) and the central 5 is the Tao. Bagua is a light which when switched on is Tàijí and when switched off is Wuji. Tàijí is a stellate Bagua in the form of an octagram.


40 = 8 symbols
5 = Tao

8 Symbols + Tao = 40 + 5
                           = 45 (Lo Shu square)

Note that in Bagua Lo Shu is an octagon and each of the eight five-pointed stars surrounding the central star is represented by a pentagon.

Lo Shu square is identified as a "river map" because it is a two-dimensional structure of a type of Rubik's cube puzzle Sudoku. Dogic, a Rubik's cube variant, is an icosahedron symbolizing water in Platonic Solids. The water is life and the river is the river of life.

A careful study of the structure of Bagua reveals that it is the back of a Turtle, and the Nine Halls a grid on the back of the Turtle.

Lo Shu square grid on the back of a Turtle.

Lo Shu river Turtle.

Lo Shu is the map of the river of life on the back of a Turtle.

Life is qi or ch'i, and the river is the flow of chi from the 3x3 magic square.

Qi is oxygen (air) required for respiration and production of energy in living things. Therefore, the river is energy flow and the flow of life force.

The flow of vital force qi from the Lo Shu square is central to traditional medicine practices. Qi is harnessed in self healing, preventive medicine and alternative medicine.

Lo Shu square is called "Lo River Writing" because it is digital information in a book (the book of life) equal to 45. The book is the tree of life and its pages are the leaves of the tree.

Lo Shu is a square grid of the endless knot representing the net or web called space-time continuum.